It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:49 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ableton mono signals
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:50 pm 
Offline
Gnasher

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:34 am
Posts: 216
Location: Hamburg
Hi,
as far as I know there is no way of having a mono signal in ableton. Stereo signals can be monoized using utility or something similar but it is still two audiostreams just having identical data. Now what happens if a mono plugin is placed in the signal path? Is one of the two streams just cut while the other is running through the plugin or is one of the channels processed and the other one remains untouched or are the two channels mixed togehter?
If it is just one channel going into the plugin and the other one is cut. Which channel will go in and which wont? What happens when the audio is leaving the plugin? Will there be one channel muted or will the monosignal be split onto both channels? I am asking as there are mono versions of plugins and for sounds that go mono anyway (which in my case is lots - will get panned later of course) it probably would be way more cpu intense to have all of those processed in stereo.
Thanks for helping

Jens


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton mono signals
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:43 pm 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 8:04 pm
Posts: 202
Dont get caught up on the actual signal visuals. Something can still be mono even if theres 2 bars on the channel level.

I arrange in FL studio and theres always a 2 sided channel level, but when i collapse a sound into mono, its 100% a mono signal now, regardless of what my eyes are seeing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton mono signals
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:04 am 
Offline
Gnasher

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:34 am
Posts: 216
Location: Hamburg
Cool. Thanks for the answer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton mono signals
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:00 am 
Offline
unsure
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:06 pm
Posts: 381
You can test yourself by hard panning two channels left/right, grouping them and putting a mono on the group submix. What do you hear?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton mono signals
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:18 am 
Offline
Interact. Don't Spam.

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:11 am
Posts: 7
When you make a signal mono, you're effectively summing the left and right together. So neither signals are getting removed, if it were you would be losing information. Although be careful when you have wide sounds and would like to make them mono, you will possibly run into phasing problems. You might be thinking of the left signal being the mono signal usually in hardware. I usually use mono versions of EQ's or Compressors if I am treating a mono signal such as sub frequencies and bass drums. Sometimes you may want to make a sample that has some space on it, mono, so you throw on a mono vst or a utility. In regards to CPU usage, if you're sending a mono signal into a stereo vst, the vst is not processing any stereo signals so there wouldn't really be much difference in CPU usage.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton mono signals
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:49 pm 
Offline
Interchangeable
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:31 pm
Posts: 9172
Finesse wrote:
When you make a signal mono, you're effectively summing the left and right together.


Unless you use something like ableton Utility stereo control. Then, if you are setting it to mono by pulling down the stereo to zero percent you ARE losing information because you are just turning down the sides and not engaging mono summing.

So you have to be careful how you do things. The advantage of the mid side method is that you are always going to be phase coherent.

_________________
Mastering Engineer @ Black Monolith Studio
Next Release


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton mono signals
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:46 am 
Offline
Pig

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:35 am
Posts: 125
I find using the mono tool but selecting only the left or right is a far better result


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles v1.1 designed by CodeMiles Team -TemplatesDragon-.