Matt Altman - Untitled 01

Post your work here - Ask for feedback or just show it off
MattAltmanMusic
Face Hugger
Matt Altman - Untitled 01

Post by MattAltmanMusic »

Hey everyone! This is my first track posting of something I finished today. I would love some feedback on pretty much everything. It's my first time experimenting with "Detroit" chords as well, so if there's a way to make them sound better I am all ears. My major influence for this one I would say is Truncate if that helps. Thank you guys!

https://soundcloud.com/mattaltmanmusic/ ... -3/s-u5XNX

Aurongroove
pregnant
Re: Matt Altman - Untitled 01

Post by Aurongroove »

Very well organized track to listen to.

On the technical side of things I suggest a couple "breathing holes" of short passages, maybe just 2 or 4 beats long, without the kick, or bass, or both (like what occurs @ 3:23), just so the ear gets a better idea of the impressive levels of low end the track is pumping out.

When the kick and bass are 'always on' (like they are from 0:00 until 2:26, and from 3:25 until the end), the ear gets used to the levels and it makes the track sound less-massive by familiarity and absence-of-contrast.

It also makes a less handy mix then it needs to be becasue the DJ may have to depend on the dynamic events of the other track to punch it's way during one of that track's structural moments, or, create one in this track with EQ pots, or, have to settle for a very long very smooth mix.
At the moment the only time the low end backs off, is during the structural events, and there are only "one and a half" of them, and they're right in the center of the track.

In general everything about the sound is smart and proper and done the right way; a smidgen more character wouldn't be the worst thing for a track like this, but that's a harder thing to define.
In general, you're SUPER going in the right direction, and far along as well.
I'm Hilarious

Some professional mastering engineers use multi-band compressors.