It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:53 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 80 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:44 am 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
I would recommend diving straight into JJOS2XL, and there's a manual out there, but it's in Engrish...Luckily, it's not super difficult to get around. I didn't even bother with learning Akai OS, went straight to JJ.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:01 am 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
You wanna learn some sampler tricks, this is the place:
https://www.dogsonacid.com/forums/production.44/

The old threads are the truth.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:58 am 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7889
Location: Lego City
Cheers James. I've been reading some of those threads on & off. Should spend a bit more time going over them. It's the 808 kick through a Mackie sound that I am going for.

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:05 am 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
Man, I just scored a Mackie 16.8.2 from a radio station auction. Haven't even had time to hook it up yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:06 am 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7889
Location: Lego City
Thats pretty cool. Fair play!

I've got a CR1604.. and it can get pretty rude when pushed.

I won't have any zplane filters either.. so I'm sure the CR will do. I'm bound to get something 'orrible from it.

Q: can you assign sample start point to the q slider?

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:18 pm 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
That I don't know. I just got the thing, I'm still learning my way around on it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:28 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7889
Location: Lego City
It would be pretty cool to record a section of synth tweaking, import it into the Mpc.. lay down a few triggers / notes.. then cycle through the audio in different places to find the groove. Rather than chopping it and having predetermined cuts.

I need to do some research lol

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:11 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7889
Location: Lego City
Watched a couple of those Phil Weeks short-vids last night - lol

I'm intrigued to see some of that 1st vid at the start of the thread. It says it's not available.

Is everyone getting that? Doesn't seem to just be about my (real) geographic location.

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:56 pm 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
That video is pretty mindblowing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:33 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7889
Location: Lego City
Picked up a 2500 today. Down the rabbit hole I go..

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:14 pm 
Offline
crud
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 6:22 pm
Posts: 80
tenga wrote:
ohh i see... thats because you have a 1000.... its more recent...
me i have a 2000xl ... can't do that... :(


I've been looking at getting a 2000xl and there are actually multiple ways of avoiding floppies and zip drives. The xl version of the 2000 has an internal IDE cable that you can use to hook up things like Compact Flash to IDE adapters. They are not noisy like the external zip drives that connect to the SCSI connector on the back. Problem is the MPC can only read partitions with a maximum size of 1GB. Depending on if you are on stock 1.14 or 1.20 firmware you can create multiple 1 GB partitions on e.g. an 8 GB CF card. These links should get you started:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajbTQPjHH2A
http://www.mpc-forums.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=168558


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:21 pm 
Offline
crud
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 6:22 pm
Posts: 80
CrĂ­och wrote:
Picked up a 2500 today. Down the rabbit hole I go..


Nice! If I remember correctly 9th Wonder used that one on his rhythm roulette episode. Went nuts with it too, best episode imo.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:25 pm 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
I'm a huge fan of those Rhythm Roulette videos. Some of them dudes just ooze creativity.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:09 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7889
Location: Lego City
Hey chaps.. anyone pick up some of those ebooks & stuff from mpc - tutor / samples / forum?

1000: http://www.mpc-tutor.com/product/beat-m ... e-mpc1000/

2500: http://www.mpc-samples.com/product.php/ ... e-mpc2500/

There's other ones too.. about sampling etc. The site is well presented & the sample extracts read nicely.

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:20 pm 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
I picked up two of them on the 1000 when I bought it. Seem like a dec t reference. Haven’t dived in yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:48 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7889
Location: Lego City
Cheers.. I got it. Really well written. An excellent buy.

Just dl'd the free jjos & not that I ever used the Akai os, but it was straightforward enough to get a groove going. I didn't really read anything yet properly as I was too tired last night.

The mpc sounds fucking amazing - Better than I hoped.

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:57 pm 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
Hell yeah bud. I went all out and purchased JJOS2XL. Haven’t had any time to learn I though work has been pretty gnarly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:59 pm 
Offline
fancy woman

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:46 pm
Posts: 48
A while ago I bought an MPC 4000. For a little while I was buzzing off it - there's no doubt it's fun to use. Especially for someone like myself who has gone from years of trying to make Techno and not really clicking, to finding a proper love for making Hip Hop beats. (there's still room for a bit of Techno...)

The thing is... I didn't buy one with 8 puts, and I just could not be fucked with the effort of getting my beats off the thing, and it's would have cost me hundreds and hundreds more to get 8 outs installed and a mixer - at which point I might have found it a bit easier and fun to record my tracks.

But also... As someone who has been learning ableton for years, and has collected a variety of really useful effect vst's, it's a real shock to the system when you realise how wank most of the built in FX are. (although it has really nice filters where the resonance really can add beef).

In the end it wad a productivity killer for me. I bought the new Maschine MK3 and its possibly the best decision I ever made. The work flow is so much faster, chopping samples is x100 less laborious. It isn't hard at all to record into ableton. The in house effects, whilst not brilliant, are far more serviceable than the MPC's, and I can use my vst's.

I guess I'm just putting out an argument for the other side of the coin. I notice through searches, that there doesn't seem to much love on this forum for Maschine... But I'm going to give it love.

I gave MPC's a go - and if you have the patience fine. But I would consider Maschine, or perhaps a new gen MPC too if you are reading this and trying to decide.

The great thing about classic MPC's though is that you can try it, and not really lose out on your investment unless you are unlucky. I paid ÂŁ450 for mine and got ÂŁ450 back :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:22 am 
Offline
hmmmmmm...

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 7:16 am
Posts: 358
CrĂ­och wrote:
Hi Guys,

Just wondering if the mpc1000 can do stuff like this.. twisting up midi patterns on the fly? Similar to the Yamaha RS7000?




No. Despite it's excellent sequencer and editing abilities, it is kinda sucky as a live performance tool, (apart from jamming on the pads). It has an arp, you can get it to play chords when you hit a pad, and you can have pre-made midipatterns of different lengths targetting the same program or midi channel which can give surprising results, but it's not really about mixing things up live.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:39 am 
Offline
pregnant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Pittsburgh
Contemplating going after one of those Yamahas.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 80 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mattias and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles v1.1 designed by CodeMiles Team -TemplatesDragon-.