Any of you guys have any experience with tracking to tape?

Electronic Music Production // Dark Arts
nomadjames
mummy!!
Any of you guys have any experience with tracking to tape?

Post by nomadjames »

I have an opportunity to pick up an Otari MX 5050mkIV-2 reel to reel tape recorder. I am wondering what you all would think about tracking to it? I have been searching the forums and I am getting the impression that it would be of limited usefulness since it's the 2 track model. I have no experience with reel to reel.
www.soundcloud.com/nomadjames

"The Edge... there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over." - Hunter S. Thompson

www.nomadjames.com

Pittsburgh Ableton
www.facebook.com/groups/558333351022659

CRDM
hmmmmmm...
Re: Any of you guys have any experience with tracking to tap

Post by CRDM »

No experience with reel to reel tape but it sounds like you've got to be very commited to using it as it seems like a high maintenance thing to own.

On the Otari note, the Hornet tape plugin which is very nice features an Otari inspired model; it's 8 euros on sale for the next week. Just as a suggestion if you want a more convenient route!

Lost to the Void
subsekt
subsekt

Post by Lost to the Void »

Lots of experience in both tracking and mastering to tape as well as renovating and maintaining machines.

The Otari 5050mk 4 was not a popular machine, not that many were made, so it makes sourcing parts pricey and difficult.
It is a good machine however.

A 2 track is not much good for tracking, but great if you want to just record parts down to tape and then resample, or record your stereo mixes down to tape for some nice colour and tape compression, and saturation.