what other music production forums do you use?

Electronic Music Production // Dark Arts
buonacc
sad bastard
what other music production forums do you use?

Post by buonacc »

terryfalafel wrote:... The noise to signal ratio is higher on GS (Gearslutz) than almost every other audio forum, excepting the audiophile type places of course.
this comment got me thinking...

i've been doing this for about 20 years now (bought my first synth, an SH-101, in September of '97), and overall i can't think of any better music production forum than Gearslutz. sure, there's a lot of crap that you need to filter out and it's not the best place for everything (can't think of any better place to learn the fine art of sidechained reverb/sub-bass than Subsekt), but i've never found anything else that compares for so many things. ...and i've seen just about every one of them, as far as i'm aware. started out on "The Gas Station" at Sonic State and the "drummachine.com" forum (anyone remember those?), then spent a number of years on the "Harmony Central" forum. i used to read "Analog Haven" quite a bit, but don't remember ever really getting involved due to the bulletin board feel of it. the "MPC Forums" (Akai MPC, obviously, and hip-hop in general) and "electro-music.com" (Nord Modular) were great for their specific focuses, but not much use for anything else. a bit late to the party, i finally found my way to Gearslutz in 2009 when the HC forum killed itself. other than that, pretty much every other forum seems like it's full of beginners and/or rather "dead" compared to GS. nowhere else that really kept me going back, never felt like i was able to learn or talk about certain things like i can at GS.

wondering what other forums are out there that anyone feels are worthwhile. ??

other forums that i visit (some more often than others):

- 'Muffwiggler' (mainly the 'Artist' and 'Off-Topic' sections actually)
- 'KVR' (great for software/VST talk, not much else)