Looking For Advice On This Kind of Techno...

Electronic Music Production // Dark Arts
subsektuser9000
Interact. Don't Spam.
Looking For Advice On This Kind of Techno...

Post by subsektuser9000 »

I've heard a lot of good things about subsekt for techno production, so I am hoping some of you guys will be able to spare some time to help me out.

I've been producing for over 2+ years now with a main focus on trance but with an strong interest in techno as well. I use Logic.

I am particularly interested in the kind of style of techno that Alex Di Stefano makes.

Here are some example tracks:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmnYuPyyw8A

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1IQpMspSt4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zi45KwBXYxY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNt1DoQEVM0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXYLt1Jkk5I

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXYLt1Jkk5I

The first 4 have trancey breakdowns and the last 1 is more of just techno.

A few things that I am struggling with this style:

-That low rumbling kick reverb sidechain. It gives a nice atmosphere and pump throughout the track, and gives the intro of the track some life. I know the basic way to create it, reverb, sidechain, compress, EQ, play with the reverb predelay, etc. But I am struggling to make it sound as good as a professional mixdown. My kick reverb sidechain just doesn't sound as good or powerful.

-His overall drive and arrangement of the tracks. My main genre is trance, so for example, the overall drive/sequencing would be bass, then acids come in, then plucks come in, then you fade in some pads before the breakdown. But for this style, I am struggling to pinpoint what is giving the track more and more energy from bar 33 to bar 49, then to bar 65. For example, in the first youtube track I posted, at 1:27 bar 49 comes in, and from what I hear, I believe some stabs come in and more percussion?