Going beyond techno

Electronic Music Production // Dark Arts
innovine
hmmmmmm...
Going beyond techno

Post by innovine »

Just wondering if you have any advice on how to expand into genres beyond techno, or beyond what you normally listen to, without your brain jumping in and saying "uh, that chords bad, that riff is too much" etc...

I've been producing techno for many years, and a bit of drum and bass and acid too, none of which are really all that musical of genres. I've developed a good ear for these rhythmic, monotonic genres, but lately I'm feeling that this is a limitation more than anything else.

My problem is that as soon as I add a chord change, or a little riff or something a bit more melodic, my brain jumps in and shuts that idea down as cheesy.

I recently got a few volcas and while learning to use them I just threw together any old shit while jamming, and sounded great, just adding transitions and keeping the mix together and not worried about where I was going. Most lively, colorful and interesting music I've made in 10 years and I had tons of fun. But when I go back to my studio, packed with serious synths and sequencers, I feel so very monotonic and dull. And it IS dull!!

I did take a break, before you recommend that, I played guitar for 6 months while I waited on my cirklon, but now that I've gotten it, I'm not feeling excitement or interest in doing techno or dnb, but everything else sounds cheesy. I hate cheese, but I'm burned out from serious shit. I went surfing around genres I'm not familiar with, like trap, retrowave, hiphop, synthwave, futurebass and wondered if this is a sound I'm interested in doing. it's not, and I also noticed then that I am setting up goals and destinations, and have lost the love of the process, of just making sounds. whwn I first started producing I was very experimental, and loved weird sound. now I just make a kick and a hat and turn it all off again in utter boredom. Any advice would be welcome.