Mix bus EQ/processing best practices

Electronic Music Production // Dark Arts
mervv
Jan : )
Mix bus EQ/processing best practices

Post by mervv »

I have a question for any mastering engineers or other wise sages

I was looking at the TDR SlickEQ Mastering edition and was considering picking it up because I use a few other TDR plugins and like them a lot, and this one has some nice features.

Here's the manual for reference

But then I got to thinking about whether applying some of the processing it can do (especially stuff like the per-band stereo control) at the mixing stage would be inconsiderate of the mastering engineer, like jumping the gun and doing something that they should be doing or might prefer just to communicate with me about and apply themselves.

Obviously I would want to apply it very carefully and subtly, and I realize it mostly comes down to whether the mixing decisions actually make it better or make a mess, but I'm interested more in the "best practices" in terms of professionalism and being a good client.

It's related to how I've lately been less afraid to do mix bus processing in the mixing stage, stepping out of my comfort zone since I feel I've recently made significant steps toward making mixes I'm happy with at the level of individual tracks and group buses. I'm now generally less afraid to do some saturating, a more EQ, some Airwindows stuff like Channel 9, etc.

Would you be annoyed if you received a mix that had already been processed in this sort of way? Any particular things to avoid or watch out for? Besides the obvious things that have been repeated ad nauseam like excessively wonky stereo shit that kills translate-ability and so on

Lost to the Void
subsekt
subsekt
Re: Mix bus EQ/processing best practices

Post by Lost to the Void »

Whilst I generally think, providing you know what you are doing, adding stuff to the mastering bus is fine and even recommended it.

I don't advocate EQ on the master bus.